NSFAS Allowances For July Now Being Paid



The new payment system for the payment of NSFAS student allowances will continue in July 2023. The allowance payment solutions aims to provide students with easier access to their allowances and greater control over their finances. 


The National Student Financial Aid (NSFAS) has begun paying allowances to students for July 2023. While the payment of allowances commenced at the beginning of the 2023 academic year, In July 2023, students will enjoy a new payment solution.

NSFAS introduced a direct NSFAS allowance payment system in 2022 to allow students to easily access their allowances and have greater control over their money. Previously, allowances were paid to the institutions where the funded students were enrolled or via third-party service providers. The allowance money would then be distributed to students.

This new direct allowance payment system was extended to university students funded by NSFAS in May 2023. Students were encouraged to register for their NSFAS bank accounts in anticipation of the use of the new system. 

NSFAS will continue paying allowances directly to all funded university students in July 2023. 

NSFAS Allowances For University Students 

Earlier this year, Higher Education Minister Dr Blade Nzimande announced the 2023 NSFAS allowances will increase by 5%. Nzimande also confirmed that living allowances would be increasing by 10% from last year and have been adjusted to inflation within the budget allocated to NSFAS.

NSFAS provides comprehensive bursaries to university students; these bursaries cover tuition and registration fees. University students also receive several allowances including an accommodation allowance, a living allowance and a learning material allowance. 

NSFAS Allowance Breakdown 2023

  • Students in university accommodation with catering will get a learning materials allowance of R5,460 and an accommodation allowance of R61,500.
  • Students in self-catering university accommodation will receive a learning materials allowance of R5,460, a living allowance of R16,500 per year, and an accommodation allowance of up to R45,000.
  • Students living with relatives (not in private accommodation) will receive a learning materials allowance of R5,460 and a living allowance of R16,500 per year.
  • Students in private off-campus accredited accommodation will receive a learning materials allowance of R5,460, a living allowance of R16,500 per year, and an accommodation allowance of up to R45,000.

NSFAS called on students to register for their NSFAS bank account if they have not yet received their allowances. 

If you have not yet received your allowances, please ensure that you have completed the onboarding process by visiting http://nsfas.org.za and following the steps provided to access your funds.

How To Register For The NSFAS Bank Account 

You will receive an SMS inviting you to register for the NSFAS bank account. 

Step 1: Click on the link sent in the SMS 

Step 2: Enter your ID number 

Step 3: Enter your personal details including your address details 

Step 4: Select a security question and provide a unique answer to secure your login details 

Step 5: Capture a clear image of your ID 

Step 6: Capture a clear image of your ID under your chin

Step 7: Wait for correspondence with an approved SMS with your NSFAS bank account number

Step 9: Collect and activate your NSFAS bank card at your campus.

Who Must You Register With For Your NSFAS Bank Account 

NSFAS partners with four service providers to bring the new payment solution to students. These partners include eZaga, Norraco, Tenet and Coinvest. Students are required to register with the service provider based on the institution they attend. 

eZaga Universities 

  • Durban University Of Technology
  • Tshwane University Of Technology
  • University Of Free State
  • University Of Limpopo
  • University Of Zululand
  • Vaal University Of Technology

Coinvest Universities 

  • Rhodes University
  • Sefako Makgatho Health Science University
  • Stellenbosch University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Mpumalanga
  • University of South Africa

Norraco Universities

  • Central University Of Technology
  • Mangosuthu University Of Technology
  • Nelson Mandela University
  • North-West University
  • University Of Fort Hare
  • University Of Johannesburg
  • University Of Western Cape

Tenet Universities 

  • Cape Peninsula University Of Technology
  • University Of KwaZulu Natal
  • University of Venda
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Witwatersrand
  • Walter Sisulu University. 

Which Students Use A NSFAS Bank Account For Allowances 

NSFAS announced that university students living with disabilities will not receive their allowances via the NSFAS bank account. Students living with disabilities will be paid their allowances by the institution they attend.


    Suggested Article